Symphonic Middle East · 2023-2024

Soloists for Symphonic Middle East Festival Announced

The list of soloists for the upcoming Symphonic Middle East Festival has just been released, revealing a star-studded display of talent that will be waiting for audiences this coming February 2022 in the United Arab Emirates city of Dubai. 

Soloists for Symphonic Middle East Festival Announced

The second edition of the Symphonic Middle East comes close on the heels of the inaugural edition which was held in June 2021. This time the festival shall be taking place between the 13th of February and the 10th of March 2022, with concerts scheduled to be hosted at the Dubai Opera and The Theatre at Mall of the Emirates. Organised by SAMIT Event Group and CMDI, with support from the European Foundation for Support of Culture, this edition of Symphonic Middle East will be taking things to a new level, as is becoming more and more evident with each new detail that emerges.

The full list of announced soloists so far includes:

  • Multiple-times Grammy Award-winner, Grand Prix du Disque, Diapason d’Or and Avery Fisher Prize recipient, violinist Gil Shaham (USA);
  • Prize-winner at the 2015 Tchaikovsky International Competition in Moscow, recipient of the Prize of the Moscow Music Critics’ Association, ECHO Klassik prize winner, pianist Luca Debargue (France);
  • Gold Medal and First Prize winner of the 1978 Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition, Founder and Artistic Director of the Russian National Orchestra, pianist Mikhail Pletnev (Russia);
  • Winner of the IX Joseph Joachim International Violin Competition Hannover and Singapore International Violin Competition, First Prize and Golden Medal recipient at the XVI International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, violinist Sergei Dogadin (Russia);
  • First Prize and Special Award winner at the first International Pablo Casals Competition held under the auspices of the Kronberg Academy, First Prize winner at the International Music Competition in Geneva, Professor at the Hochschule für Musik "Hanns Eisler" Berlin, cellist Claudio Bohorquez (Germany);
  • Winner of the International Fritz Kreisler Competition in Vienna (2010) and International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition in Helsinki (2010), prize-winner and laureate of numerous international competitions including the International Tchaikovsky Competition (2007, 2nd prize) and Queen Elisabeth Music Competition in Brussels (2009, 5th prize), Honoured Artist of Russia, violinist Nikita Boriso-Glebsky (Russia);
  • People’s Artist of Russia, Winner of the Tchaikovsky International Competition, laureate of the prestigious “Shostakovich’s Prize” in Music as well as the State Prize of the Russian Federation in Literature and Art, pianist Denis Matsuev (Russia);
  • Gold medallist of the Fifteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition and multiple First Prize Winner at numerous other international competitions, Yekwon Sunwoo (South Korea);
  • Exclusive BIS Records Recording Artist, Third Prize Winner at the 1998 Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition in Moscow, Winner of the 1992 BBC Young Musician of the Year Competition, pianist Freddy Kempf (UK);
  • Deutsche Gramophone Recording Artist, multiple-competition winner, acclaimed professor and jury member of many international competitions, cellist Meehae Ryo (Korea);
  • Winner of multiple national and international competitions, bandoneon specialist Mario Stefano Pietrodarchi (Italy);
  • First Prize and Gold Medal winner at the World Piano Competition in Cincinnati, prize-winner of the Russian Muses to the World Foundation and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, pianist Ekaterina Mechetina (Russia);
  • First Prize, Critics’ Prize and Audience’s Award winner at the Joseph Joachim Hannover International Violin Competition, violinist Fumiaki Miura (Japan);
  • Winner of the Grand Prix at the Tchaikovsky International Competition in 1994, recipient of two Golden Mask awards, a Casta Diva Critics Award and the Moscow Government Award for Achievement and Contribution to the World of Arts and Culture, awardee of the State Prize of the Russian Federation in Literature and Arts, soprano Hibla Gerzmava (Russia),
  • First Prize Winner of the Walter E. Naumburg Viola Competition, recipient of the 2011 Leonard Bernstein Award and 2010 Avery Fisher Career Grant, violist David Aaron Carpenter (USA);
  • Recording Artist for Brilliant Classics and Berlin Classics Artistic Director of the Kaposvár International Chamber Music Festival, violinist Kristof Barati (Hungary)
  • Warner Classics Recording Artist, recipient of Echo Klassik and Classical BRIT Awards, violinist Chloë Hanslip (UK).

Tickets for the 2022 edition of the Symphonic Middle East Festival will be out soon. Visit this site to remain up-to-date on all the latest announcements.